30 before 30: Day One

So here we are, February.  The countdown has officially begun.  My life, my obsession, my passion for this year has been Dance Marathon.  I have dreamed about what it might feel like when we finally made it this far, after almost a years worth of planning and 20-30 man hours per week, striving to raise awareness and funds for our beneficiary.  There are many moments when I am on the verge of tears.  My heart feels so incredibly full that I can’t imagine a more perfect way to spend my time.  And there are other times when my mind feels scrambled and my heart is racing and the stress and exhaustion is debilitating.  I wouldn’t trade this for the world.

So I decided that I don’t want to forget a moment or a memory so I won’t forget a day.  Every day, from now until the big weekend, I will write.  About how I’m feeling, the progress we’ve made, a success, a funny story.  When March 4, 2012 is fading into the distance, I will want to read this.

Today I finally got to sleep in after a particularly full weekend of DM which consumed almost every waking hour.  Couple that with a 9 AM meeting on Monday and a Spanish presentation on Tuesday and there wasn’t much time left in the day.  In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have slept in.  I woke up around 11 AM, finalized our production schedule for Top Chef and sent about a million e-mails regarding this weekend and beginning crucial conversations about weekend-of events such as our 5k/10k.  I did “work” at Kafein, which was really code for editing my resume, contemplating my future, and sending more e-mails/planning for DM.  After reheating leftovers I went to the DM office to make copies and attempt to do actual reading for Religious Studies.  Once that didn’t happen I went to Buffalo Wild Wings to embark on Week 4 of our Trivia Challenge.  We left with a nice wad of cash as usual, and I couldn’t help but smile.  One of the things I’m most proud of about this year is the incredible progress we have made with Trivia, boosting attendance, moving into the backroom, working on a food special, and improving the atmosphere and mood overall.  It’s a great feeling to know that we could transform something that was once a struggle and a chore, into an extremely lucrative and exciting weekly event, while engaging our Committee members and sipping a beer every once and a while.  So here I am, still not reading for Religious Studies, saying farewell to February 1st.  Today was a very happy day.

Keith Haring

Leave a Reply

