Hunger: Tapas y Jazz

A few weeks back I met up with Jess and Stefanie to reminice and give advice about studying abroad in Sevilla.  Stef was just about to leave and Jess and I never need an excuse to talk about Spain.  Every “tip” turned into a sincere memory relived through our telling of it.  Besides the fact that remembering our glorious lives abroad sometimes gives us aches and pains (because we long to return), we love it.  We ordered something new on the menu as well.  I’ve been to Cafe Riazor a few times but I’ve never tried the “callos a la gallega” or “tripe, sausage, and chickpea stew.”  Convinced that tripe was a white fish we ordered it and happily served ourselves heaping yellow portions that looked like this:

Visible chickpeas and sausage and…

It had a slippery, jelly-like texture.  Something I had never really tasted before.  It was a more soft and chewy version of calamari, honestly I can’t describe the texture because it was quite disgusting to chew.  We knew something wasn’t right… Jess looked up the work tripe on her phone and burst out laughing for what seemed like forever.  I was begging her to tell me what we ate!  She said, ” I think it’s the most disgusting thing I’ve ever eaten.”  She is probably right.

Sea anemone? Brain? Sponge?

No. Sheep’s stomach.  Or pig’s stomach.  Stomach lining.  Gross, mushy intestines of a foul animal.  Why, Andalusia, why?  I can’t get the image out of my mind.

Yum! Doesn’t that look delicious!

2 responses to “Hunger: Tapas y Jazz

  1. REBECCA!!!!! As I read your blog, I kept saying “ewww” “ugh” “YUCKKKKK!!!” Your pictures of the most exotic food I’ve ever eaten definitely allowed me to re-live that lovely moment of realization. I suppose it is only fitting to have Spanish word-bloopers in America, just as we had in Sevilla! Keep ’em coming….Minus the stomach lining.

  2. Oh my goodness! Well at least a good story to tell. Thank you for entering the Beso Win an Iconic Trench Giveaway! Good luck – xoxo.

Leave a Reply

