Total Immersion

A few weeks ago I was crossing the bridge when I had a sudden and necessary urge.  I wanted to throw myself over the railing and into the river, drowning myself in Sevilla.  I wanted to be totally lost in its treasures, its curves, its history, its smells.  I was rather pensive at the time, reflecting on my past three months in Spain.  I can’t believe I only have 8 days left here.  In everything that I’ve learned about this city, everything I’ve learned about myself, about the world, I can’t imagine things abruptly coming to an end.  That day, as I was crossing the river, jumping in seemed the perfect metaphor for the complete immersion that I wanted to experience during my last three weeks in Sevilla.

And now here I am, sitting in Starbucks, closing a 350 page Spanish novel on Medieval Spain, putting the final touches on a 10 page Spanish essay about Islamic Decorative Art in Medieval Spain.  I’ve traveled to over 15 cities, in 5 countries, over 2 continents.  I’ve made 5 new best friends, increased my Spanish vocabulary with more words than I can count, and taken 1,000’s of pictures.  Now I have to ask myself, what am I going to do with everything I have learned?  How can I take these experiences and use them in my “real life”?  This 4-month vacation from reality is going to be a big part of the new me, and now that I’m self-aware, empowered, cultured, and have seen more of the world than I could have imagined…I’m still trying to figure out, when the honey moon is over, and the culture shock has faded, how Rebecca in Spain and Rebecca in the USA, will come to be the same person again.

Leave a Reply

